Sunday Snacking

Yesterday was cold and rainy here in Durham, so we spent most of the day inside. Mid-afternoon rolled around and my husband and I both felt the need for a little snack. I still had a good bit of home-made applesauce left over from yesterday’s brunch as well as about 1/2 an ounce of the magnificent gorgonzola dolche (which I promise I will tell you the story of… eventually).

Realizing that I had some frozen mini-phyllo shells in the freezer, dessert was born.

Apple Blue Cheese Tarts

Blue Cheese Apple Tarts

12 pre-baked mini phyllo shells (I used Athenos Brand)

1 cup homemade rosemary applesauce

1 oz of gorgonzola dolce, brie, or other soft blue cheese.

Raw sugar, for sprinkling

Fill each shell with applesauce and top with a small dab of cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, until shells are crisped, apples are warmed through, and cheese is melted.

Sprinke with raw sugar.

I made 1/2 with brie and 1/2 with the gorgonzola dolce. The consensus was that while the brie were delicious, the blue cheese were sublime.

I’m starting to work on my photography, and I have to say that I am really ridiculously proud of this picture. It was shot in my front window using natural light.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “Sunday Snacking

  1. Google is the best search engine

Leave a Reply

