My husband only loves me because of the chocolate.

The bird and the fish might fall in love, but where will they live?

In my experience, there are two kinds of people in the world. Those who love fruit desserts and those who love chocolate desserts. My husband, in the latter category, is the world’s most unrepentant chocoholic. This has always been a challenge for me, because I am not much of a sweet food person at all, and on the rare occasions that I reach for a dessert, it will inevitably be of the fruit variety.

However, because I am a woman in love, I make him lots of chocolate desserts. When he declared this “the best chocolate dessert ever,” I was a little miffed. “How could I possibly be irritated that he praised my cooking?” you ask. It’s because this dessert is so easy. I’ve made him all kinds of elaborate labor intensive chocolate desserts, and the one that gets the top marks is this lowley brownie sunday… huh.

So, without further ado I give you my Mexican Brownie Sundae.


Mexican Brownie Sundae

Mexican Brownie Sundaes

These are so good because of the combination of spices and coffee, both of which really amplify the impact of the chocolate. Also, there is the lovely interplay of the moist denseness of the chocolate brownie, the cold creaminess of the ice cream, and the

warmth of the chocolate sauce. Really it is a case where the sum is far greater than the parts so I recommend you make all of the components. However, both the brownies and the sauce are great on their own.

Mexican Brownies

adapted from Baker’s Chocolate One Bowl Brownies

4 oz unsweetened baking chocolate

3/4 c butter (1 plus 1/2 sticks)

2 c sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp salt

1 c all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 13 ” by 9″ baking dish.

Finely chop the chocolate (I find that this is easiest using a bread knife) and put it into a medium mixing bowl. Add the butter and microwave for 1 minute at a time at 60% power, stiring every minute until chocolate and butter are melted. Add the sugar and stir to combine. Add the eggs, vanilla, almond extract, cayenne, cinnamon, and salt and stir until well combined. Stir in the flour until just incorporated. Bake 30-35 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out with fudgy crumbs attached. Let cool in pan.

Mexican Hot Fudge

1/2 c heavy cream

1/4 c brewed coffee

1/4 tsp cayenne

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbs light corn syrup

8 oz good quality bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

Bring cream, coffee, spices, and corn syrup to a simmer in a saucepan. When bubbles are forming around the edges, remove from heat and add the chocolate. Wait a few minutes so that the chocolate has time to begin melting. Stir until the sauce is smooth. Keeps well in

the fridge and can be gently re-warmed in the microwave before serving.

Good-quality coffee ice-cream. (I like breyers and haagen daaz. For this, I actually like the relative lightness of the breyers better.)

These are very rich, so I would recommend cutting the brownies into 24 servings, and serving a 1/2 c scoop of ice cream on top.

Mexican Brownie Sundae

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

